Why Love Will Never Be Enough

I never really believed in “love is enough to make a relationship work”.

Of course, it’s not. Well, at least for me.

I have been there. A couple of times. Sometimes, no matter how much you love someone, at the end of the day, if you aren’t happy anymore, it just wont work. The trust, loyalty, affection and faith are other essentials of a successful relationship. I am still too young to know about everything, but in my 18 years of existence, I’ve gotten to somehow know about these things because of the people around me and for quite some time, because of my own experience. 

One can never rely on love alone. Loving is easy, it’s the faith and the will to continue on that’s hard to maintain- remember, you have to make a choice EVERY DAY.

I am a firm believer in the package deal of love and trust. You won’t be able to make things work if there’s no trust. You will go nuts every single time. Meanwhile, when you love AND trust, you can still feel the comfort despite being away from each other, despite every fight and despite every misunderstanding.

Are you getting me?

Sometimes, even if you love someone so much, you cant help but hurt them in ways you don’t really want to.. What can you do, it’s possible to suddenly be unhappy about something, and sometimes, to just fall out of love. It’s a cruel world, remember? 

I’ve “fallen in love” before, and as days passed by, my faith in the relationship and my happiness with it were slowly deteriorating. Next thing I knew, I decided to end things because I don’t want to hurt the other person anymore- believe me, it’s more painful to unhappily stay than to painfully let go because you’re not growing together anymore. You’re not happy anymore. You lost the faith and the will to continue and to fight for it everyday.

I will never, ever believe that love is enough. If it was, the world would be a happier place. It wouldn’t be this chaotic. If love was really enough, one cannot know the importance and value of pain- and the greatest feeling once you overcome everything. 

Leave a Reply

